The Oaks Ignore Their Pleas

Making Decisions When Choices Are Hard

Posted in General by Jeff Graves on March 11, 2014

Sometimes, we’re faced with tough decisions where there seems like there are no good options, and we just have to choose the “best option” and hope that we did enough homework and that things work out in our favor.  And then there are times when we face a decision between two or more really GOOD options, but we can only choose one.  Those are always the ones I have the hardest time making, because I hate to miss out on things.   It’s funny, because if you’re faced with 2 really good options, you probably can’t lose – no matter what you choose, you benefit.  But, the whole concept of Opportunity Cost rears it’s head – if I don’t do option A, what will I miss out on?  I probably shouldn’t look at it that way, and I try not to, but there’s always that little voice in my head pointing out the benefits to each option, telling me what I’ll regret if I don’t do this, or don’t do that.  At the end of the day, we’ve only got so much time and energy to spend, and it doesn’t make a lot of sense to waste energy fretting over the road not taken.  

And sometimes, we have a week that seems full of these kinds of decisions.  The best thing to do, I think, is to work on one decision at a time, and when the decision is made, put it aside and move on to the next one.  Easier said than done, but that’s the plan for this week.

Leave a Reply

