The Oaks Ignore Their Pleas

The Start of A New Year

Posted in General by Jeff Graves on January 6, 2014

I suppose everyone has spent a bit of time over the last few weeks contemplating the year just past, and thinking about the year ahead.  Even if you’re not given to “New Year’s Resolutions”, it’s been hard to escape the “year in review” pieces in all forms of media.

I’ve done resolutions some years, only to miserably fail at them, like most folks.  I also used the “theme word” approach for a few years, and that at least made me feel better about my plans for the year.  This year, I read an interesting article that proposed that the key to a successful resolution is not to make one, but to establish processes that you plan to follow in the New Year, with the idea being that processes are what drive results, not end-state declarations.

The process idea makes a ton of sense, but I suppose the real point of a New Year’s Resolution is to contemplate areas for self-improvement, and make an attempt to improve.  So this year, I spent some time thinking about where I want to improve, and have set out some objectives for the year.  I won’t call them “resolutions” (although they probably are), and I am working on defining some habits and processes that are intended to get me there.  I also won’t be publishing them (not here as a formal list, anyhow), but in keeping with the “theme” concept, here’s a summary of my look ahead to 2014:

Read more, write more, exercise regularly, improve my financial management, and embrace my family more.

Pretty boring, I know…but as with everything, the devil is in the details, and I’ve spent some time over the last 2 weeks thinking through those details.  Interestingly, while I expected to do a fair amount of writing during my recent end-of-year vacation, I found once the vacation got going, that I really needed to disconnect and step back from it all, hence the brief hiatus in posting here.  Thanks to a password issue with my company email account, I was also forced into forgoing regular email updates from work, which also turned out to be a break that I sorely needed.  The only downside is that I now face an Inbox that’s likely stuffed to overflowing.  However, beyond figuring out what I’ve been scheduled for today and tomorrow, I won’t be slaving over my email inbox all morning.  I plan to start the year by thinking through a few of the larger projects on my plate and doing some “real work”.  There’s a post in there somewhere about the value of email in today’s working world, and I’ll add that to the list of things that are “in progress”.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

