The Oaks Ignore Their Pleas

Seasons Change

Posted in General by Jeff Graves on November 13, 2013

It’s a cliche, but one of the things that I love about living in New England is the fact that we experience four very distinct seasons. My favorite is usually whichever we’re living through at a given time, although I’ll admit that on a couple of occasions I’ve grown a bit impatient waiting for winter to loosen it’s grip.

Among other things, I’ve made a concerted effort this year to really pay attention to the passing of each season – maybe it’s a mid-life thing, that “sands through the hourglass” recognition, or maybe I’m just in a different place this year as the kids are growing up and becoming more independent. This morning was probably the coldest morning of the fall, with ice crusting the puddles on the streets, and a brilliant blue sky that makes a great backdrop for the yellow and brown foliage that still clings to the trees. The cold air felt great as I took the trash to the curb this morning – no coat, just some brisk activity to keep me warm. (We’ll see how I feel about the cold during my 15 minute walk to Downtown Crossing in a bit)

I’ve found myself thinking a lot about “indoor plans” as the weather has turned colder – not that I want to hibernate until April, but this time of year does lend itself to those things that I never quite got around to when the warm weather called my name every day. There are no end to household projects to complete – rooms that need to be painted, things to be repaired, and a ton of technical projects that I really want to tackle with the kids (Raspberry Pi anyone?).

All in all, I really want to make sure that we don’t just survive through the dark and cold months ahead, but thrive and enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

