The Oaks Ignore Their Pleas

Google Reader, Part III

Posted in RSS by Jeff Graves on January 28, 2007

So after a full week using Google Reader, I have to say that I think I’m sold.  I don’t expect to be going back to Newsgator anytime soon.  I especially like the “river of news” style All Items view, which I think speeds reading and processing feeds by a significant margin over the folder-based structure of Newsgator.

However, there are a couple of things that I really don’t like about Google Reader.

The biggest problem is that the All Items view, which has a counter to display how many unread items you have, maxes out at 100, so if I have more than 100 unread posts, it simply shows “100+”.  Now, this may not seem like a big deal, but I like knowing that I’m making progress in reading my feeds.  With over 70 feeds that I subscribe to, it doesn’t take too long at all to accumulate more than 100 unread items.  And if I don’t get to pop onto the Reader for a day or more, I end up moving through post after post, without really knowing how close I am to getting my Unread posts down to a manageable number.  I finally was able to work down below 100 posts tonite, after 4 days of seeing the 100+ indicator every day.  Maybe it’s just me and my task-oriented, metrics-obsessed brain, but it really bothers me that I can’t gauge my progress as I move through my unread posts. 

The other issue I have with the Reader may not actually be a Reader issue – it could be an IE7 issue.  But, as I’m moving through the All Items view, the Reader seems to freeze or hang now and again.  It’s usually not for more than 3 or 4 seconds, but it’s enough to disrupt the “flow” if I’m really moving through posts.  In addition, if I leave the Reader open and Hibernate my PC, Reader has issues the next time I go to use it.  The unread items counter often doesn’t work at all, and remains stuck at whatever it was set at when I reawakened my PC, until I close my browser and reopen Reader.  I think I’ll try Reader on Firefox 2.0 for a couple of days and see if there’s any difference.

 All in all, though…I do like the product.  I think I’ll keep it for a while.

I think this will be my last post for a while on the Google Reader…I don’t want to be known as a One Trick Pony in the blogosphere (not that this has been a particularly good trick).

Leave a Reply

