The Oaks Ignore Their Pleas

Second Life Update

Posted in Second Life by Jeff Graves on September 8, 2006

I arrived home last night, had dinner and put the kids to bed, with the intention of getting some things done in SL, to keep my “project” on schedule.  But when I got onto SL, my friends list looked suspiciously empty.  Surely there must be at least ONE person I know online.  So I tried IM’ng someone that the friends list said was offline, and after a few moments, she responded.  I went about trying to get some things done, leaving IM’s for several people I needed to catch up with.  But, as I talked to a number of people who were in-world, it became clear that there was something wrong.  Some IM’s seemed to get lost, and it became increasingly difficult to carry on a conversation.  Frustrated, I signed off, and ended up using Yahoo IM for a bit. 

When I checked the SL Grid status page after a bit, it indicated that the grid was down.  It appears that it was a short outage, but the delay was enough to make me decide to table my SL activity for the night.  However, it was encouraging to see this entry on the Official Linden Blog, explaining some of the issues around the outage.  I know that a lot of people are upset over the loss of the SL Forums, and I’m not sure that this blog fully replaces that outlet.  But, I think the blog allows Linden a level of connection with the SL community, and they appear to be making a legitimate effort to keep the community updated with the things we care about, whether it’s good news or bad.  That can only be a good thing, if it continues.

Leave a Reply

