The Oaks Ignore Their Pleas

The Requisite Google Post

Posted in Software as a Service by Jeff Graves on August 29, 2006

OK, I’m far from the first to post this, and I’m certainly far from the most qualified, but I felt like I had to jump on the bandwagon and mention that Google has started down the path of offering a complete “office” suite, by bundling Gmail, Talk, Page Creator and Calendar into a single service.  I plan to apply for access to the suite, to check it out, as I’m a current user of Google Calendar, and have lusted after Gmail for months now. 

The concept of web-based office tools is one that I think has a lot of potential, although as a devotee of Excel Pivot Tables, I have yet to find a web-based spreadsheet that will let me really replace Excel on a full-time basis.  So far, I’m partial to ThinkFree Office, which manages to provide most of the common Office functions in a spreadsheet, word processor and presentation slide manager, in a nice Java app that so far, has proven to be pretty resilient.  Of course, now that I have a number of spreadsheets and slide decks captured on ThinkFree, the barriers to my moving to another tool have been raised a bit, since it will take me a bit of time to download all of my files and upload them to a new tool.  The time spent converting, might make me tend to stay put, unless a tool comes along with some serious advantages over ThinkFree.  Short of making a Pivot Table function available, I’m not sure what features might come along that would be compelling enough for me to give up ThinkFree.  But hey, I’m always open to suggestions…

Leave a Reply

